Lady Barn House School

Book List

Year Three – Reading List

Wayne Anderson – Dragon
Simon Bartram – Man on the Moon
Adam Blade – Beast Quest (Series)
Henrietta Branford – Fire, Bed and Bone
Anne Fine – Bill’s New Frock
Susan Gates – Beware of the Killer Coat
John Goodwin – Nice One, Sam!
Douglas Hill – Melleran’s Monsters (Series)
Mary Hoffman – The Colour of Home
Dick King-Smith – Back-to-Front Benjy
Elizabeth Laird – The Ice Cream Swipe
Robert Leeson – Tom’s War
Astrid Lindgren – Pippi Longstocking (Series)
Hugh Lupton – Tales of Wisdom & Wonder
Jan Mark – The Snow Maze
Paul May – Cat Patrol
Nichola McAuliffe – Attila, Loolagax & the Eagle
Alan McDonald – Mark’s Dream Team
Roger McGough – Bad, Bad Cats
Michaela Morgan – Cool Clive
Ruth Morgan – Bump in the Night
Michael Morpurgo – The Butterfly Lion
Jenny Nimmo – Tom and the Pterosaur
Jan Paige – It’s Not Funny
Philippa Pearce – The Ghost in Annie’s Room
Dav Pilkey – Ricky Ricotta’s Giant Robot
Lynne Reid Banks – Harry the Poisonous Centipede
Philip Ridley – Krindlekrax
Jamie Rix – One Hot Penguin
Kate Saunders – Power Hat Panic
Jeremy Strong – Dinosaur Pox (and other titles)
Shaun Tan – The Red Tree
Karen Wallace – King Henry VIII’s Shoes
Nick Warburton – Flora’s Fantastic Revenge
Jacqueline Wilson – How to Survive Summer Camp


Paul Cookson – The Works – Every Kind of Poem
Wendy Cooling – Me: Poems about being born & growing older
John Foster – A Century of Children’s Poems
Joan Paulson – Sling a Jammy Doughnut
Michael Rosen – No Breathing in Class

Year Four – Reading List

Allan Ahlberg – Woof
E. D. Baker – The Frog Princess
Adam Blade – Beast Quest (Series)
Herbie Brennan – Eddie & the Dirty Dogs
Peter Clover – Sheltie at the Funfair
Michael Coleman – Shocking Shooting
Sharon Creech – Ruby Holler
Helen Cresswell – Lizzie Dripping
Gillian Cross – The Monster from Underground
Kevin Crossley-Holland – Arthur: The Seeing Stone
Anne Fine – Care of Henry
Cornelia Funke – The Thief Lord
Morris Gleitzman – Boy Overboard
Mary Hoffman – Stravaganza: City of Stars
Mary Hoffman – The Colour of Home
Mary Hoffman – Lines in the Sand
Dorothy Horgan – Charlie’s Eye
Anthony Horowitz – Groosham Grange
Elizabeth Laird – When the World Began
C S Lewis – The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe series
Jan Mark – Lady Long Legs
Steve May – Is That Your Dog?
Marilyn McLaughlin – Fierce Milly (Series)
K. H. McMullen – Wiglaf’s Worst Nightmare
Michael Morpurgo – Sleeping Sword
Michael Morpurgo – Nine Lives of Montezuma
Michael Morpurgo – Out of the Ashes
Michael Morpurgo – Rainbow Bear
Michael Morpurgo – Tom’s Sausage Lion
Michael Morpurgo – Robin of Sherwood
Michael Morpurgo – Red Eyes at Night
Beverley Naidoo – The Other Side of the Truth
Jenny Nimmo – The Stone Mouse
Andrew Norris – Aquila
Mary Norton – The Borrowers
Katherine Paterson – Bridge to Terabithia
Helena Pielichaty – Simone’s Letters (Series)
Helena Pielichaty – After School Club (Series)
Philip Pullman – The Firework-Maker’s Daughter
Lynn Reid Banks – Alice by Accident
Lynn Reid Banks – The Indian in the Cupboard
Jon Scieszka & Lane Smith – Squids will be Squids
Paul Shipton – The Mighty Sink
Barry Turner – One Small Suitcase
Diana Wynne Jones – The Lives of Christopher Chant
Diana Wynne Jones – Witch Week
Diana Wynne Jones – The Chronicles of Chrestomanci
Jacqueline Wilson – Double Act
Jacqueline Wilson – The Suitcase Kid


Allan Ahlberg – Please Mrs Butler
Wes McGee – Madtail, Miniwhale & Other Shape
Roger McGough – Good Enough to Eat
Grace Nicholls – The Poet Cat
Michael Rosen – A World of Poetry
Benjamin Zaphaniah – Talking Turkeys

We have now re-opened our doors to all year groups, whilst continuing to provide remote learning alongside our in-school provision. Thank you to our pupils, parents and staff for their support during this unprecedented time. We are still welcoming Admissions enquiries for September 2020 and beyond, via email to Mrs Lachevre: or telephone 0161 359 7241.